Over the weekend, the LA marathon occurred. Like last year, I was glued to the television watching the coverage.  While watching the elite runners, Anna says to me “they look like runner, they look like they are ‘running’ all i look like is jogging”. Then asked “why don’t you look like that?” “Don’t you want to get better?”

I explained that running is much more to me that physical exercise. It is therapeutic. It is my escape from all of the things i may need to escape from that moment.

I was reading a story about a man who physically carried another runner across the finish line at Rock and Roll Washington over the weekend. In the comments section under the article I saw this:

“Running is more than running. It’s a way of life. Until you are one, fast or slow, short or long distances, will you ever truly realize and understand all the facets of your life that it touches.”

I was really touched by this. I don’t think I could have put it better.