Tags

, , , , ,

Funny that my last post bridged two roles I occupy, son and father. This is the time of year that he (my dad) is on my mind. Today would have been (or, is) his 74th birthday. So obviously he is really on my mind. I’m thinking about him at various times in my life and the roles he occupied.

I realized when I wrote that last post that it had been a while since I thought about him. Now it’s not like I forgot him, but he wasn’t on my mind as often as he has been. The very beginning of February brings me two things, the Superbowl and his birthday. So obviously I start thinking about him, the fact that I can’t call him, or get one of his famous hugs.

But this year has been different. I suppose I can even go as far as saying it’s been a bit easier. I still miss the hell out of him, and would love nothing more than to have a conversation with him, even for a minute. But the pain just isn’t as sharp.

Until the anniversaries. Birthdays (his and mine) and the day he passed, that pain is just as sharp and stabbing as it has ever been.

Happy birthday Dad, I love and miss you. I hope you are enjoying eternity and still giving those hugs.