Tags

, ,

I really, really like to run. Really I do, I promise that is not a lie.

However…

…if you were to see my training log, you would see that I have not run more than three miles or more in a very long time, nor have I run more than twice in a week for the past three months.

So if I really (really) like to run, what’s my damage?

I wish I had an answer that involved an injury, or a prolonged illness that has me incapacitated or living in a decontamination chamber.  Unfortunately the truth is not quite that exciting.  I really have no excuse nor reason as to the drought I have been going through. If anything, I should be running more than I have been in a long while.

I have been unemployed for the past couple months. I spend a good portion of every day in front of the computer, and when I am not looking for new employment, I am watching our little man. I am very appreciative of the time that I have been spending with him during this transition and I know I will miss it once I am working again.  This post is not about the time I AM spending wit my son, it is about the time I am NOT spending on the pavement.

So as I just said, I have been unemployed for a couple months. It is starting to get a little old. I am ready to go back to work. When you are unemployed, you tell yourself ‘I am going to workout twice a day, run so many miles, etc.’ but the reality sets in. you find your day fills up quite quickly. Your priorities change and your good intentions of becoming an elite athlete go by the wayside. Another amazing thing happens when you are unemployed, you feel like you would have loads of free time, but it disappears at an alarming rate, and not on mundane things. On actual things that need to be completed.

I have gotten so bad that replacing my running shoes ( I am LONNNNGGGGGG overdue) has taken a backseat. Partially because of the cost involved (I have expensive tastes in running shoes) partially because I have not been making the time to run, so why am I going to spend the money to have a perfectly good pair of running shoes sit in the corner, taking up space?

Part of this is nothing but pure, unadulterated laziness. I should be getting up, lacing up my shoes and getting out for at least 3 miles every morning. As any runner will tell you, you have to keep doing it, your stamina will drop off so quickly. I can barely get a mile in before stopping to walk. that is completely unacceptable, I user to be able to go much further before stopping. BUUUUUUTTTTtttt, I haven’t been doing that. The weather being colder has definitely been a factor as well (and any runner will tell you, unless it is dangerously cold, that is about the LAMEST excuse (not a reason) in the world). I enjoy being comfy in my bed in the morning, when I should be out there hitting the trails.

SO I feel the pull to get out there, but my lazy behind just would rather stay in bed. I will make an effort to get out there to finish 2015 with a some sort of effort. If I can do this, maybe I will find a way to justify the purchase of a new pair of shoes!

 

We will see…